DOE: Secretary Granholm Announces Newly Appointed Members of the Secretary of Energy Advisory Board

Thursday, April 6, 2023

Key Links:

WASHINGTON, D.C.— The U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) today announced three new members of the Secretary of Energy Advisory Board (SEAB), an important component of DOE’s strategy to improve its research and development portfolio and program activities. The members of the SEAB are appointed for a two-year term and represent diverse perspectives including that of, academic institutions, nuclear security, labor unions, utility companies, energy equipment manufacturers, low-income consumers, tribal entities, and non-governmental organizations. The SEAB meets regularly to advise DOE Secretary Jennifer Granholm on how best to achieve the priorities of the Department, help identify emerging issues related to the DOE’s activities, and offer suggestions for improvements to its operation. 

“DOE is focused on delivering climate change solutions, strengthening our nation’s security, and managing our agency’s environmental legacy,” said Secretary Granholm. “I welcome these outstanding individuals to the SEAB, bringing their new perspectives as we continue to steer our efforts to be at the forefront of the global clean energy revolution.”  

Dr. Arun Majumdar will continue to serve as Chair of the SEAB.  Dr. Majumdar was previously the first Director of the Advanced Research Projects Agency – Energy (ARPA-E) and now serves as the inaugural dean of the Stanford Doerr School of Sustainability. Madelyn Creedon, who previously served as Principal Deputy Administrator of the National Nuclear Security Administration (NNSA), will continue to serve as Vice-Chair.   

“These new members have a diversity of domain expertise and life experience that will help the SEAB succeed in helping Secretary Granholm and her team reach the Department’s goals,” said Dr. Majumdar. “SEAB has an exciting list of topics to examine this year which require knowledge and innovation from a wide range of fields.”   

The new members of SEAB are: 

  • Brad Markell, Executive Director of the American Federation of Labor and Congress of Industrial Organizations (AFL–CIO) Industrial Union Council. He also leads the federation’s climate and energy policy work. 
  • Dr. Suzanne Singer, Co-Founder & Executive Director of Native Renewables, a nonprofit organization formed to address energy access challenges for 15,000 families on the Navajo Nation who live without electricity.   
  • Chris Smith, Chief Government Affairs Officer for the Ford Motor Company and former Assistant Secretary of Fossil Energy for DOE. 

The current members of the SEAB, whose terms expire on August 30, 2023, can be found here: /seab/secretary-energy-advisory-board-members.  

The next SEAB meeting will be held on April 25 at 1:00 pm and can be attended virtually by any member of the public. More information on how to register for the meeting can be found here: /seab/seab-meetings



Back to Home | More DOE News

Join the Newsletter

What’s better than free news straight from the source?